Aside

Our Last Goodbye

Today I’m writing my first offering for Friday Fictioneers Challenge at Rochelle Wisoff-Field’s-Addicted to Purple blog. I’m doing something wrong and having difficulty unloading it so this is my second attempt. Please be patient with me.  P.S. Joshi

Genre: Literary Fiction

100 Words

Our Last Goodbye

We stood, chilled, our breath freezing in the cold air, as the silver moonlight sent its shafts earthward. It was caught and reflected in the glistening liquid which now flowed silently through the meadows swallowed by the ebony night.

This river of my childhood was now fenced off, a warning to all that one year ago, swollen and a raging, vicious force crushing  all in its path, it had swept away our town. Our lives would be forever changed; our trust in nature now shaken. My dad and I had come to say one last sad goodbye.

8 thoughts on “Our Last Goodbye

  1. Wonderful 100-word piece of fiction – succinct and conveys so much emotion. Probably because I can relate to the story. I hope you keep writing about your life in India and fiction too, because you truly have a gift for writing. Glad all’s well with your husband, and I hope that another dog like Rajah will bless your life there 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your encouragement and concern for my husband. I’m including in a book I’m writing about my childhood some material on the pets my family had, and other animals we came in contact when I was growing up in the U.S. There are literally thousands of feral dogs and cats in the city in India where we live. There was a plan to collect garbage differently so it wouldn’t be scattered around the bins, but I told someone that would cause a problem also as the animals might start to starve. There is such a respect for animal life here that euthanasia is not an option, and other means aren’t working. I recently read that the feral dogs are now hunting the local wildlife in packs. I don’t know how the problem will be resolved.

      Like

  2. Oh, that’s such a sad thing, the increase in the number of feral dogs. I hope someone or a group will be able to find a solution to the problem – one that will be good for everyone.

    Like

    • I hope as well that something can be done. The problem is these matters are often politcized here. No one wants to give offense and lose voters by hurting religious sentiments so problems don’t get solved and just go on and on. One newspaper columnist said, referring to letting cows wander until they starved rather than go against the law and kill them, that if the cows had their say, they’d probably rather die. Once they lose their usefulness the owners no longer want to waste money feeding them. The owners were also in the habit of letting the animals eat from the garbage bins, but there was a serious problem when said cows ate plastic, because they have more than one stomach. They become sick and die.

      Like

      • I have seen a documentary of cows in India eating plastic and the suffering they go through. India is such a land of paradoxes – so spiritual yet there’s so much suffering. In situations like this, the only thing people like us can do is pray…and hope.

        Like

  3. Yes, it is sad. I sometimes think it’s responsible for people here being very religious. They turn to prayer when other people let them down. It’s a good thing that they turn to prayer, but a bad thing when people let them down. Thankfully, there are organizations here, both religious groups and secular groups who do try to help. The need is just so overwhelming that it’s never quite enough. The joint familiy was the place for help in the past, but that structure is changing. It’s hard for people of an ancient culture to change their ways of thinking. It takes a long time and can be painful.

    Like

    • Thank you. I always try to say things the simplest way possible. I still write letters to some of my friends so I guess I’ve formed that habit because I don’t write letters as often as I should so have a lot to say when I do. If I got too wordy I probably wouldn’t be able to get the letter into the envelope. My friends are also direct people.

      Like

Leave a Reply

