THE LONG WALK

 

c2a9tales_from_the_motherland (1)

Copyright–Dawn Quyle Landau

 

Here we are once more taking a virtual trip to far places and strange venues with our guide, the gracious and talented author and artist, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. We’re sharing our original stories for the weekly trip of the Friday Fictioneers. Our challenge is to write a story with no more than 100 words. It’s supposed to include a beginning, middle, end, and follow the picture prompt supplied for the week. The prompt this week is supplied by Dawn Q. Landau. Thanks Dawn.

http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2014/09/17/19-september-2014/

Genre: ย Humor Fiction

Word Count: ย 100 Words

THE LONG WALK By P.S. Joshi

John was a nice guy, but he had two big faults, telling tall tales and overeating.

His wife Marg had enough. One night she found him gorging at midnight. She came up behind him and said, “John.”

He jumped about a foot. “Would you believe–and it’s a fact–would you believe I had this strange dream where I was walking across a long, wide terrace? I walked and walked. I woke up to find myself sitting here eating in the kitchen.”

She shook her head, trying not to laugh. “No,” she said. “I don’t believe a word of it.”

 

friday-fictioneers

44 thoughts on “THE LONG WALK

  1. Marg’s good-natured response confirms what we’ve already learned at the beginning: despite his failings, John is a nice guy and she appreciates him. Now if she found him downstairs with a woman and he said he had a dream where he woke up to find himself ……, it might be a whole other story!

    Like

  2. Dear Susan, Well, it’s like this, the refrigerator was calling me and woke me up from a good sleep and then when I went to tell it to leave me alone – there was no way to ignore the last piece of pie. I love the clever story for his alibi though! Great story! Nan ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. I can’t help but identify with my namesake in your story. I also have a ‘John’ who, while he’s not into midnight fridge raids, does indulge the occasional eating binge given the right conditions. He’s also fond of taking advantage of my trusting nature with the wildest stories, which I, unlike your Marg, invariably believe. I like your story. It gives a funny and touching snapshot of a happy marriage. I also really like your title. Marriage is a long walk.
    Marg (again)

    Like

    • Thanks Marg. It’s such a coincidence that I chose those names and they match your husband’s and yours. I just pull names out of my imagination. I think many of us have indulged at one time or another in an eating binge. I know I have. My husband has a big imagination also. I’m so glad you liked the story. ๐Ÿ™‚ —Susan

      Like

Leave a Reply

