MEMORIES”

 

Bank building in the UK

This is my contribution to Sunday Photo Fiction for January 18, 2015. Every Sunday a new picture prompt is given by Alastair Forbes, the host. The weekly challenge is to write an original story with no more than 200 words. It’s supposed to have a beginning, middle, end, and follow the picture prompt for the week. Be sure to click on the little blue frog in the blue box to read all the other stories.

The link for all the stories is as follows:

http://sundayphotofictioner.wordpress.com/2015/01/18/sunday-photo-fiction-january-18th-2015/

Genre: Β Realistic Fiction

Word Count: Β 197 Words

MEMORIES By P.S. Joshi

Mom was holding a post card of the First Savings Bank. “Yes, it was in front of that very building twenty years ago that I first met your father.” She then sighed.

She was off on one of her memory trips again, and I was bored. She must have told that story about ten times–every month.

“Someday, Bradley,” Mom looked at me with misty eyes, “you’ll meet the one who’s meant to be yours.”

Dad was sitting, head thrown back, snoring. He was not a romantic. Not even a little. Maybe I was like him. I would never subject my kids to that garbage.

Mom was also fond of describing my birth. “You were a beautiful baby,” she said. It seemed she could see me there in front of her, all plump, kicking my little feet.

“The other woman in the hospital room with me had a baby that only weighed five pounds. You weighed eight.”

That talk took place twenty years ago. Now here I am with my daughter, holding up a picture of the local stadium.

“You know, Mary, this is the place where I met your mother fifteen years ago.” My daughter looked bored.

Sunday Photo Fiction Image

anniversary-1x

purple-flowers-may-2013

12 thoughts on “MEMORIES”

    • Thanks Ali. Yes, the child doesn’t always appreciate it at the time, but understands later. I’m so glad you liked the story. I always enjoyed my dad’s stories. He was good at telling them. πŸ™‚ — Suzanne

      Like

Leave a Reply

