THE MAZE

 

garden-maze

Copyright–Melanie Greenwood

Here we are again another week, gathered this time at the virtual estate of a wealthy family. They have an especially beautiful maze in the back yard. We’re here to do more than sightsee. We’re going to discuss our original stories for the Friday Fictioneer’s group. The hostess for this group is the talented and gracious artist and author, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. The prompt this week was supplied by Melanie Greenwood. Thanks Melanie. Using this prompt, our challenge is to write a story with no more than 100 words. It’s to have a beginning, middle, end, and follow the prompt. Be sure to click on the little blue frog in the blue box to read the other stories.

The link to the other stories is as follows:

http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2015/02/04/6-february-2015/

Genre: Detective Fiction

Word Count: 100 Words

THE MAZEΒ By P.S. Joshi

Chief Inspector Burton was interested in the cold cases. In his spare time, he was always working on something concerning them.

He found the disappearance of ten young women, some twenty years before, especially curious. Few leads had turned up, and the cases had to be closed.

Checking further, he discovered the women were all from the same general area east of the city, not far from the estate of wealthy arms manufacturer, Mr. Joseph Birmingham. He decided to visit Sunday afternoon.

Mr. Birmingham had died and the estate was for sale.

On the grounds, he noticed a luxuriant maze.

friday-fictioneers

anniversary-1x

purple-flowers-may-2013

42 thoughts on “THE MAZE

  1. I liked this but there are so many questions it felt like you just whet my appetite and introduced me to a much longer story. Where did the 10 women disappear to, how did Mr. Birmingham die, who gets the money from the estate sale and who – or what – is in that maze! Inspector Burton has his work cut out for him.

    Like

    • Thanks, Michael. You’re right. A lot of questions need to be answered by reopening the case The Inspector is going to have to do a lot of digging, perhaps physical as well as mental. I’m glad you liked the story. πŸ™‚ — Suzanne

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re stories always have great hooks. Amazing what you do in so few words.
    FYI – I just learned that likes and comments in WordPress Reader don’t show up on people’s blogs. Seems ridiculous, if you ask me. Just in case my past comments haven’t made it through, I wanted to let you know I’m a fan and read every one:). I’ll make sure they do in the future.

    Like

    • I don’t know where that info came from, Diana, but the likes and comments do come to our blogs. I’ve had some problem in the past with some of my comments I’ve made going to the Spam on other peoples’s blogs, but that hasn’t happened to me for some time now. To be on the safe side, I check the Spam once in a while. The rare blog, sometimes still ends up there, but I get most of them okay. As far as I know I’ve been getting yours. Thank you for being a fan. I appreciate it a great deal. I’m a fan of yours also. I’m presently reading the book you sent to me. I love your writing. I’ve read the short stories on your blog as well in case you didn’t get my comments. Sometimes there are glitches in the program, but lately I haven’t had a problem. I hope others have been getting my comments and likes. Thanks for letting me know. πŸ™‚ — Suzanne

      Liked by 1 person

      • I was wrong. I guess it doesn’t hit the “views” and “hits” statistics. See, this is all gibberish to me (ha ha). As long as the writers and bloggers are getting my likes and comments, I’m satisfied. Happy Writing Suzanne.

        Like

      • I’m fairly sure that the likes and comments do appear on other blogs, but the problem is that it isn’t recorded as a ‘hit’ on the site. Which explains why I’ve noticed that my stats never equate with the number of ‘likes’ that have been recorded.

        Like

  3. I’m familiar with the phrase “pushing up daisies,” so “pushing up mazes” isn’t too much of a stretch for my imagination. πŸ™‚ I like the way you set this one up, Suzanne.

    Like

  4. Oh yes, I like the way your ending leaves a great big question mark. What, indeed, lies hidden in that maze? And what have the dealings of a now-dead wealthy arms dealer got to do with it all? So many questions – all providing a very interesting case for Chief IIspector Burton.

    Like

    • Thanks, Subroto. You know, I didn’t think of that. I hope I don’t get a bad dream about a man/woman-eating maze. That would turn my mystery story into a horror story. O_o I’m glad you liked the story. πŸ™‚ — Suzanne

      Like

Leave a Reply

