A DANGEROUS ASSIGNMENT

Submarine

Copyright: Barbara W. Beacham

This is my weekly contribution to Monday’s Finish the Story, hosted by Barbara W. Beacham. Every Monday, Barbara supplies a new picture prompt along with the first sentence for the story. The original story to be written should have only 100 to 150 additional words. I’ve bolded the first sentence given with the picture prompt. Be sure to click on the little blue frog in the blue box, after clicking on the link, to read the other stories.

The link for all the other stories is as follows:

https://mondaysfinishthestory.wordpress.com/2015/05/18/mondays-finish-the-story-may-18th-2015/

Genre: Humor Fiction

Word Count: 3+11+150=164 Words

A DANGEROUS ASSIGNMENT by P.S. Joshi

The crew of the Angel Flame received orders to head out.

The Commanding Officer on board the sub was Commander Oliver J. Periwinkle. His years of service showed in the lines on his face. This assignment would add more.

“Skipper,” said his Executive Officer, Chief Bradley Blankton. “This’ll be a dangerous venture.”

“Yes,” said the Skipper. “I’m afraid we’ll meet with trouble. The President’s sent us since this ‘is’ the finest crew in the Navy.”

“Sir,” said the Chief, “Did you say that an enemy sub had been spotted off the coast of Alaska? Has it been identified?”

“Not yet,” said the Skipper. “That’ll be our job. We better be accurate as we don’t want to blow up the thing before we find out where it’s come from.”

“Ollie Periwinkle, are you daydreaming again?”

His aunt’s voice blasted at him, and he jumped straight up.

He grabbed a stubborn pea pod and attacked each seam vigorously. Peas rained down.

Symbol for Monday's Finish the Story

anniversary-1x

purple-flowers-may-2013

Written  Act of Kindness Award

tour-through-blogland-21

30 thoughts on “A DANGEROUS ASSIGNMENT

    • Thanks, Ali. I felt sorry for Ollie as well. He was just setting out on the adventure and had to go back to the shelling. 😦 I’m glad you liked the story, especially the “lines.” 🙂 — Suzanne

      Like

  1. Thanks, David. I totally agree. I love kids who daydream and have imaginations. Probably because I did. So did both my parents, so I came by it honestly. I must have passed it along to my kids. I’m so glad you liked the story. I had fun with that one. Huge Hugs back to you. 😀 — Suzanne

    Like

  2. I personally like daydreaming as a way of releasing stress and it’s a good way to spark creativity. I’m just glad I don’t have an aunt who could rain on my parade. Ollie should find a spot up on a tree where he can daydream away from his aunt 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.