WAITING FOR THE TRAIN

 

Train station--J. Hardy Carroll

Photo Copyright: J. Hardy Carroll

Here we are for another week. Today we’ve gathered in a virtual train station. Our hostess for this group meeting is the talented and gracious author and artist, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. We’re the Friday Fictioneers group. Our challenge for this week and every week is to each write an original story with no more than 100 words, not including the title. It’s supposed to have a beginning, middle, end, and follow the picture prompt for the week. This week’s prompt was supplied by J. Hardy Carroll. Thanks, J. Hardy.

To read the other stories by the group members, just click on the link given below, then on the little blue frog in the blue box.

The link for this week’s stories is as follows:

https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2016/05/18/20-may-2016/

Genre: Speculative Fiction

Word Count: 100 Words

WAITING FOR THE TRAIN by P.S. Joshi

Larry walked into the train station and sat down. He was getting so forgetful these days. Where was he going? How would he know when to get off if he didn’t know his destination?

He could look at his ticket. That was it. He’d check his ticket. Now where had he put his ticket?

He could buy one but he didn’t seem to have money.

He walked to the ticket window. “Pardon me sir. Can I have a train schedule?

I’m sorry, mister. There’s no schedule for this train. It only makes two stops. One’s heaven and t’other’s hell.

friday-fictioneers

anniversary-1x

purple-flowers-may-2013

Written Act of Kindness Award

tour-through-blogland-21

champions-awards

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

40 thoughts on “WAITING FOR THE TRAIN

  1. Awesome story. I have such trouble writing flash fiction myself but you did a great job! πŸ™‚ …I have hope and trust that Larry will go up and not down. πŸ™‚ I hope we all do! Hate-filled people are just one change away from peace and greatness, I believe. I hate to see hateful people who sow discord. Because you know they must’ve had a bad life. 😦 I feel for them. But Larry is a cool dude.

    Like

    • Thanks, Sword. I’m so pleased you liked my story. I have some difficulty in writing longer stories, but I’m trying to learn. I hope we all go “up” also. I personally believe there’s a loving God who gives us many chances to change, always is willing to forgive–even at the last moment, and understands us each perfectly. That’s why I always try not to judge others. That’s God’s job. Yes, Larry is cool. πŸ™‚ — Suzanne

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Bjorn. To those who don’t think they’re going anywhere, it will be the biggest surprise that they are. I’m so pleased you liked the story, especially the twist at the end. πŸ™‚ — Suzanne

      Like

    • Thanks, Bun. I would prefer Purgatory to be no worse than waiting in a train station. Sooner or later, though, personally I’d be bored without a book to read or something and would prefer to move on. I was always taught that going down comes quicker than up and when I move on won’t be my decision to make. πŸ™‚ — Suzanne

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m reminded of an old joke where a pastor asked everyone who wanted to go to heaven to stand next to the wall. Everyone in the church went and lined up except for one old man. The pastor asked, “Sir, don’t you want to go to heaven?” “Yes,” said the man. “I just don’t want to make the trip today.”

    Liked by 3 people

    • Thanks, Perry. He’s confused because he doesn’t realize he’s now a spirit on his way to his next stop. I’m not quite ready to be forgetful for that reason yet. I’m so pleased you liked the story. πŸ™‚ — Suzanne

      Like

Leave a Reply

