NIGHT ON THE BOOKSHELF

 

books-on-a-shelf-al-forbes-october-9th-2016

Photo Copyright: Al Forbes

This story was written forΒ Sunday Photo Fiction–October 9th, 2016. Each week the host, Al Forbes, provides a picture prompt. The challenge for each member of the group is to write an original story or poem with no more than 200 words, not including the title and inspired by the prompt.

To read the other stories written by group members, just click on the link below, then on the little blue frog in the blue box.

The link to the other stories this week is as follows:

https://sundayphotofictioner.wordpress.com/2016/10/09/sunday-photo-fiction-october-9th-2016/

Genre: Fantasy Fiction

Word Count: 200 Words

NIGHT ON THE BOOKSHELF by P.S. Joshi

It was night on the bookshelf in Laura’s bedroom. She loved fantasy and fairy tales.

About midnight while she was sleeping, there was movement on the shelf. She’d left a storybook open. A knight in shiny armor was clanking around followed by a woodcutter.

“My good man,” said the knight, “where are we?”

“I know not sire,” remarked the woodcutter. “The last thing I was doing was chopping wood for the king.”

The knight took off his helmet and gauntlets and put them under his arm. “I was at a tournament ready to unseat Sir Reginald. I could have succeeded too but my horse has disappeared. Where the dickens is my horse?”

Just then a shepherdess came along with a single sheep following her. “Good sirs, have you seen the rest of my flock? I’ve lost my sheep and don’t know where to find them.”

“Well don’t ask me,” said the knight. “I can’t find my doggone horse and he’s much bigger than a sheep.”

“There’s nothing to chop here,” complained the woodcutter. “The king will freeze in that cold castle and I’ll lose my head.”

In the morning, Laura sighed and once more put them back in their book.

spf

anniversary-1x

purple-flowers-may-2013

Written Act of Kindness Award

tour-through-blogland-21

champions-awards

20 thoughts on “NIGHT ON THE BOOKSHELF

    • Thanks, Mandi. I’m happy you enjoyed the story so much. What a great comment to compare my little story to “The Indian In the Cupboard”. I saw one of those movies on TV some time back. I heard a lot about the first book. πŸ˜€ — Suzanne

      Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, they are complaining a lot but they did lose things important to them. The woodsman might lose his head. That’s serious. They’ll be okay though when they’re put back to finish the stories they left. I’m happy you enjoyed the story, Ali. πŸ˜€ — Suzanne

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I hate accidentally leaving a book open like that and then having to spend time rounding up all the characters again. One Hundred and One Dalmatians was once left open on page 37 all night! Oh, what a nightmare that was, let me tell you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

