WHEN A BABY BIRD LEAVES THE NEST

 

bird-feeder-al-forbes-october-16th-2016

Photo Copyright: Al Forbes

This story was written forΒ Sunday Photo Fiction–October 16th, 2016. Each week the host, Al Forbes, provides a picture prompt. The challenge for each member of the group is to write an original story or poem with no more than 200 words, not including the title and inspired by the prompt.

To read the other stories written by group members, just click on the link below, then on the little blue frog in the blue box.

The link to the other stories this week is as follows:

https://sundayphotofictioner.wordpress.com/2016/sunday-photo-fiction-october-16th-2016/

Genre: Realistic Fiction

Word Count: 198 Words

WHEN A BABY BIRD LEAVES THE NEST by P.S. Joshi

When Wanda went to Business College in 1960, she expected to get a job, then a boyfriend, then quit working after about a year and start a family. Many girls did that in those days.

When she interviewed for her first office job, they told her, “You’re too young and pretty. You’ll soon get married and quit work to start a family.”

She finally did find a job but stopped dating that boyfriend.

She dated several boys but none turned out to be the right one for marriage. In several years, she saved some money so quit work to go to college and learn teaching.

There was still no boy she wanted to marry. In four years, she started teaching. She still lived at home. Her father and she were close and he got used to having her living at home. However, she began to get restless. She felt life was leaving her behind as she was in her late twenties and still single. Her mother was fine with her getting her own place to live just so she was happy.

When she told her father, he almost cried. Β He said, “People will think we had a fight.”

spf

anniversary-1x

purple-flowers-may-2013

Written Act of Kindness Award

tour-through-blogland-21

champions-awards

26 thoughts on “WHEN A BABY BIRD LEAVES THE NEST

    • Thanks, Al. In the U.S. it wasn’t unheard of but many girls got married right out of high school or college so didn’t have the choice. It wasn’t as common as it is now. Two of the other young women I taught with had their own places. One of them had taken a job that wasn’t near her parents’ home. I’m happy you liked the story. πŸ™‚ — Suzanne

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Poor Dad. But I can relate, she needs the see how she can handle being on her own, out in the world. Plus perhaps, out there she will meet a nice guy. Or their will be better opportunities for that or just job opportunities, or to travel. She’ll visit her Dad, but she needs her own space too. Nice write Suzanne.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Mandi. When I moved out I was in my late twenties and had a decent-paying job for that time. I also needed my own space. My dad never made me pay rent. I was previously thinking of moving to another country because it seemed adventurous but got the job I had where I’d done my student teaching. Teachers were really needed in those days. It was a nice school and I already knew the other teachers. I’m happy you liked the story. πŸ™‚ — Suzanne

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m so glad you are a teacher Suzanne. I can see by how you write, you would be a good one and I’m happy you got that job way back with other teacher friends. Many of my friends teach primary grades and love it. Dad was a chemistry teacher in highschool before moving onto being principal πŸ™‚ Have a great weekend πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. I liked the story. It genuinely was realistic fiction and a very believable situation. I feel sorry for the father, but I can’t really blame the daughter for wanting to strike out on her own. That just what happens when kids get older.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Bun. It was realistic because only a couple things were fictional. It’s pretty much what happened to me. Of course, I wasn’t alone. It happened to others and still happens. I was the baby of the family and my dad was used to having me at home. He was protective, especially so because I was a girl. He got used to me having my own place. I didn’t live that far away. I’m happy you enjoyed the story. πŸ™‚ — Suzanne

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Bjorn. Yes, times have certainly changed. My dad was born in 1897 and probably would have had a hard time adjusting to today’s ways of living. He was forty-four when I was born. In 1980 he died at almost age 83. He was amazed at all the ways things had changed in his lifetime. I’m happy you liked the story. πŸ™‚ — Suzanne

      Like

Leave a Reply

