STUPID ALIENS

 

store-on-route-66-jean-l-hays-11-02-2016

Photo Copyright: Jean L. Hays

NOTE: For those who haven’t read my note on “Sunday Photo Fiction”, I’m back after taking a week’s vacation. Actually, I had a root canal with an abscess and the infection was no fun. The tooth had to be removed so I decided to take the time off while I healed. Pulling myself up 43 steps in our building with no lift was almost worse than the infection.

On a happier note, I recently was notified I’d won 2nd Place in a short story contest in an international publication, the free online “CQ Magazine”. On pages 55 and 56 the prize winners are announced. It’s a good magazine with interesting stories, articles, and artwork. My story and the other stories from the contest will be printed and published in the February 2017 edition. If anyone wants to see the magazine and list of winners, just look on Google Search for CQ Magazine and the article “Look at what’s inside CQ Magazine Articles on Calgary’s years…”. Click on the title, then on the cover of the Magazine shown and wait until a smaller version is shown. Clicking on that will bring up the November issue of the magazine. You can adjust the size. On the right side is an arrow to open the issue. You can flip to pages 55 and 56 to see the contest winners listed or to anything else interesting to you.

Here we are for another week. Today we’re outside an old store on Historic Route 66. We’re gathered here to discuss our original stories for the week. This is the Friday Fictioneers group. Our hostess for the gathering is the talented and gracious author and artist, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. The challenge for each of us this week and every week is to write a story with no more than 100 words, not including the title. It’s supposed to have a beginning, middle, end, and follow the picture prompt for the week. This week’s prompt was provided by Jean L Hays. Thanks, Jean.

To read the other stories by the group members, just click on the link given below, then on the little blue frog in the blue box.

The link for this week’s stories is as follows:

https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2016/11/02/4-november-2016/

Genre: Humor Fantasy

Word Count: 100 Words

STUPID ALIENS by P.S. Joshi

In October of 1938, a small flying saucer scanned the surface of Earth.

“Pitsook,” said Hoptic, “I’m picking up a primitive Earth signal saying attacking aliens have landed from Mars. I thought you told me one time there are no beings on Mars. Just who could these aliens be? For all I know, we of Planet 65 are the sole scanners. I didn’t know any others were interested in Earth, let alone dumb enough to attack it.”

Pitsook thought a moment. “They must be really stupid. I mean what’s here to want? We other worlds are far ahead of them.”

friday-fictioneers

anniversary-1x

purple-flowers-may-2013

Written Act of Kindness Award

tour-through-blogland-21

champions-awards

66 thoughts on “STUPID ALIENS

    • Thanks, Neil. I’m happy you enjoyed my story. I had fun writing that one about the little aliens. Rochelle brought up the Halloween theme of the radio broadcast so I could bring them in again. Thank you for the congratulations on my magazine story win. 😀 — Suzanne

      Like

  1. Dear Suzanne,

    I agree. What is there on earth an alien would want. Particularly in 1938? As I said before, it’s a pity they didn’t land in Germany and have Fuehrer souffle. Ah well. Good story, love the alien POV. Congratulations again on the win.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Rochelle. A real alien landing might have called a delay in or end to the war. That would have been a good thing especially if they would have kidnapped or done away with Hitler. I’m happy you enjoyed the aliens and their outlook. Thanks again for congratulating me on the win. 🙂 — Suzanne

      Like

    • Thanks, Plaridel, for your congratulations on my story win. Even after hearing Donald Trump speak I’m confused about what he thinks. It always seems to be something different. It would be interesting to know what he’d think of an alien landing–and what the aliens would think of him. I’m happy you enjoyed my story. 😀 — Suzanne

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Susan! Tooth problems are always painful. We take teeth for granted until unless they start giving trouble. Now you are okay I wish and hope. Congratulation for your achievement. Nice funny story.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations on your success with CQ Magazine! That’s great! I was sorry to hear about your root canal, though. I guess it’s been a mixed time for you recently.

    Anyway, I liked the story. It’s a humorous (if slightly worrying) idea that there are aliens out there watching us and scratching their heads at just how dim we all are.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Bun, for your congratulations on my story win. That win was a happy surprise. Thanks also for your sympathy for my dental problems. I’m glad the news about the story came after the tooth problem. It helped a bit. I’m also happy you liked my alien story so much. Maybe if they don’t like our planet they’ll stay away. 😀 — Suzanne

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Teagan, for your hope for my dental improvement. I am feeling much better. Thanks also for your congratulations for my story win. I appreciate your delight in my stories. Mega hugs to you also. 🙂 — Suzanne

      Like

    • Thanks, Russell, for your congratulations on my story win. Yes, aliens seemed to be central to both Rochelle and my stories.this week. I thought I’d use aliens also since it brought in the Halloween theme. I’m happy you enjoyed my little alien story humor. My aliens are more funny than dangerous. 😀 — Suzanne

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, I.B., for your congratulations on my story win. We certainly know more now than we did in 1938. I guess if the aliens have ships to get to us they must be at least technically ahead. I’m happy you enjoyed my alien story.

      Like

Leave a Reply

