THE MAGICAL BACKYARD ENTRANCE

 

Photo Copyright: Eric Wicklund

This story was written for Sunday Photo Fiction–June 25th, 2017. Each week the host, Al Forbes, provides a picture prompt taken by him or sent in by one of the participants in the group of writers. The challenge for each member of the group is to write an original story or poem with no more than 200 words, not including the title and inspired by the prompt. This week’s prompt was sent in by Eric Wicklund. Thanks, Eric.

To read the other stories written by group members, just click on the link below, then on the little blue frog in the blue box.

The link to the other stories this week is as follows:

https://sundayphotofictioner.wordpress.com/2017/06/sunday-photo-fiction-june-25th-2017/

Genre: Fantasy Fiction

Word Count: 200 Words

THE MAGICAL BACKYARD ENTRANCE by P.S. Joshi

When I was a child I discovered something magical in the backyard. To others it looked like a round hole in the base of a large Maple. You could peer all the way through. At least it seemed that way. Except it wasn’t.

I was playing near the tree one sunny afternoon when I saw a tiny child about the size of my thumb exit from the hole. He saw me and smiled. Faeries like children you see.

“Hello child,” he said. “Come closer.”

He looked friendly so I strolled to the tree.

“Come inside and we’ll play. Just say, ‘Magic Ring’.”

I repeated it and found myself in a delightful land. I had shrunk to the size of the faery. The grass was a deep velvet green and music wafted with the breeze through the tall trees.

Other laughing Faeries joined us and took my hands leading me among vast fields of gorgeous flowers the colors of the rainbow. The blooms glowed with interior light.

It seemed we played there for hours but I discovered faery time is different. When I climbed back out mother called me for lunch.

She smiled but I guessed she didn’t believe my story.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “THE MAGICAL BACKYARD ENTRANCE

Leave a Reply

