PERFORMER’S LAMENT

 

Bird puppet -- Luther Siler

Photo Copyright: Luther Siler

Here we are another week. This time we’re gathered at a virtual puppet show. Our hostess for this gathering is the gracious and talented artist and author, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. We are the Friday Fictioneers, and the challenge this week, and every week, is for each of us to write an original story with no more than 100 words. It’s supposed to have a beginning, middle, end, and follow the picture prompt provided for the week. This week’s prompt was provided by Luther Siler. Thanks, Luther.

To read the other stories from group members, just click on the link given below, then on the little blue frog in the blue box. The link for the other stories this week is as follows:

https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2015/12/09/11-december-2015/

Genre: Humor Fiction

Word Count: 100 Words

PERFORMER’S LAMENT By P.S. Joshi

Depression is setting in, and I’m worn thin. I’d like to think, just once, I’m controlling my own destiny.

People say I was made for this life, that it fits me like a hand in a glove. What do they know?

Every day is the same. There are no real choices. At day’s end, I’m cast aside like an old rag.

I’m forced to perform by those controlling me. They get paid, but not me. I don’t see any money. What’s with that?

What would happen, I wonder, if I went on strike? But are they worried? Not a bit.

friday-fictioneers

anniversary-1x

purple-flowers-may-2013

Written Act of Kindness Award

tour-through-blogland-21

45 thoughts on “PERFORMER’S LAMENT

  1. Dear Suzanne,

    Like Deborah, I took your story to have a deeper meaning. I rather felt that way the last three years or so of my employment. Cake decorator and puppet had a lot in common. 😉 At any rate you served up a well written story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  2. Thanks, Diana. I know and was surprised so many readers took it seriously as I wasn’t thinking seriously when I wrote it. When I thought about it after reading some of the comments, though, I could understand those comments.

    Like

    • Thanks, Tracey. I thought I’d use a more humorous POV. It could also be the POV of a person although I didn’t think of it that way when I wrote it, I can understand how some readers saw it that way. I’m so pleased you liked the story. 🙂 — Suzanne

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I can relate to the weariness and helplessness of your character. I’m sure many can relate to this on a deep level. Very well done, Suzanne! On another note, I have some Indian friends whose families were affected by the floods. Are you okay? I hope you are well.

    Like

    • Thanks, Amy. I’m so glad you liked the story. How nice of you to think of us. We live at the top of a gradual hill here in Pune. There is flooding sometimes at lower levels, especially since rivers run through Pune. Also, the drains get stopped up. It can really be a mess. Cities here tend to build over the natural drainage channels for the water and that causes a problem also. Thanks for your concern. 🙂 — Suzanne

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.